Department of Physics


Department of Physics is one among the oldest departments of the college, existing right from its inception in 1964. The department has qualified faculty members and state-of-the art infrastructure and imparts quality programmes of undergraduate and post graduate level. The teachers of the department, who lead the way, built an enduring edifice for it by their hard work and dedicated service. The B.Sc Physics programme started in the year 1980. In 2004, M.Sc. Physics (self-financing) programme was started and in 2005, M.Sc. physics Lab, reconstructed & well-furnished, was blessed by the Bursar Rev. Fr. Johnson Pullettu.  Both UG and PG programmes have excellent results in the University level. We attribute all our achievements to our veteran teachers who worked steadfastly for the welfare of this institution.
At present, department consists of four permanent teachers (in the UG level) and six guest faculty (in PG self-financing stream). The department has secured many ranks in the University Degree examination. Large number of our alumni have been successful in national level tests conducted by agencies like UGC. The department takes pride in guiding its students towards careers in Physics and also motivates promising students to take up research. It has been successful in imparting training to students with the aim of gaining admissions to premier institutions of national and international acclaim.
The department has gained infrastructural facilities to support research in the field of material science under various schemes of DST, UGC and KSCSTE. The department also hosts national seminars as well as talks by eminent scientists and academicians for the benefit of the students. In the near future, we also aim to raise the department to a research centre.

Action Plan 2019-20