Department of Mathematics

Ph: 04822 - 233409


The Department of Mathematics, Deva Matha College Kuravilangad, as old as the college itself, is fortunate to have a proud history to its credit, thanks to the farsightedness and dedication of its pioneer members. In 1964 the faculty started   with Prof. George John Nidhiri as the only member of the department. In 1967 Prof. M.V. Peter joined as the second member of the department. In 1968 the college was upgraded and B.Sc. Degree course started. Prof. P.A. Eapen who had retired from C.M.S. College Kottayam joined the department as an honorary member. The department was enriched by a further addition with the appointment of Prof. N.K. Thomas (Statistics - 1968), Prof. P. Joseph Selasten ( 1970), Prof. K.G. Joseph (1970), Sri. Jacob Thoompunkal (1980) and Smt. Lisy John (1982). The department began to offer postgraduate programme from 2014. The department has a handfull of University Ranks over the years to its credit. The department is proud of its renowned alumni like Dr. K. K. Jose, former Principal, St. Thomas College , Pala currently emiritus Professor Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment, Dr. Ramachandran Nair V. K., former Head of the Department of  Statistics CUSAT. Several academicians and Software engineers nurtured by the department woring in an outside the country carry the lineage forward. 

Action Plan 2019-20