Department of Economics

Ph: 04822-231263


Founded in 1968 as a strategic academic centre under Deva Matha College Kuravilangad, the department of Economics has a glorious history of 50 years of excellence. Late Rev. Dr. N.A. Thomas M.A., Ph.D., the first Principal of the College, Late Rev. Dr. T. Joseph M.A., Ph.D., second Principal of the College and Prof. V.I. George M.A., Manager of Mar Kuriakose College Koothattukulam were the first three heads of the Department. The department has a creative alumni of about 2400 including I.A.S. Officers, Professors, Bank Managers, Priests, Corporate Managers, Advocates and Journalists. Mar Jacob Murickan, Auxiliary Bishop, Pala, Sri. K. G. Raju IAS, Former Collector, Wayanad, Dr. V. A. Joseph, Former Chairman, South Indian Bank, Sri. P. M. Mathew Ex. M. L. A., Dr. Baby Thomas, Former Director School of Distance Education M. G. University etc. are some of the jewels of the department. The department publishes “Prathibha” a creative work of the students for the last 26 years. The department has 2 minor projects to its credit.
Action Plan 2019-20